Immigrant Oral Histories

Lesson One: The Dakota People

The Dakota/Lakota/Nakota Nation is comprised of seven bands. This alliance is referred to as the Oceti Ŝakowiŋ Oceti Ŝakowiŋ or Seven Council Fires. The following are the names of the Oceti Ŝakowiŋ:

Mdewakaŋtoŋwaŋ Mdewakaŋtoŋwaŋ, The Spirit Lake People
Waĥpekute Waĥpekute, The Shooters Among the Leaves People
Waĥpetoŋwaŋ Waĥpetoŋwaŋ, The People Dwelling Among the Leaves
Sisitoŋwaŋ Sisitoŋwaŋ, People of the Fish Village(s)
Ihaŋktoŋwaŋ Ihaŋktoŋwaŋ, Dwellers at the End
Ihaŋktoŋwaŋna Ihaŋktoŋwaŋna, Little Dwellers at the End
Ti´toŋwaŋ Ti´toŋwaŋ, Dwellers on the Plains

Selected U.S.-Dakota War of 1862 commemoration projects and programs are made possible by the Legacy Amendment's Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund, through the vote of Minnesotans on November 4, 2008.